By Abiodun OBA

The Police Council chaired by Governor Bola Tinubu at Aso Rock Presidential Vila has confirmed the appointment of Kayode Egbetokun as the substantive Inspector General Of Police (IGP).

Governor Bala Mohammed of Bauchi State told journalists on Tuesday.

Born on September 4, 1964, in Egbado South Local Government Area of Ogun State, Egbetokun was appointed Acting IGP in replacement of Usman Baba by President Tinubu on Monday, June 19, 2023.

Egbetokun Olukayode Adeolu, born on September 4, 1964 in Erinja, Yewa South Local Government Area of Ogun State, joined the Nigeria Police Force on March 3, 1990, as a Cadet Assistant Superintendent of Police (Course 16).

He has served in various positions in the police force in the course of his career.

In 1999, he assumed the role of Chief Security Officer to the Governor of Lagos State, Senator Bola Tinubu.

Egbetokun also served as the Commander of the Rapid Response Squad in Lagos, Squadron Commander of Mopol 5 in Benin City, Officer-in-Charge of the Anti-Fraud Unit in the FCT Command in Abuja, Chief Superintendent of Police in the Administration at the Lagos State Command Headquarters in Ikeja, Area Commander in Osogbo, Osun State Command, and Area Commander in Gusau, Zamfara State Command at various times.

On September 29, 2020, he was promoted to the position of Commissioner of Police and was assigned to Kwara State.

In September 2022, he became an Assistant Inspector General of Police and was deployed to Zone 7 (Abuja).

On March 29, 2023, Egbetokun was appointed Deputy Inspector General of Police and assigned to the FCID.

Egbetokun graduated with a degree in Mathematics from the University of Lagos (UNILAG) in June 1987.

He also obtained an MSC in Engineering Analysis from the University of Lagos in 1996, a Post-Graduate Diploma in Petroleum Economics from Delta State University, Abraka in 2000, and an MBA from Lagos State University, Ojo in 2004 among others.

You may also like


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *