Jonathan not screened


Abiodun OBA


The Chief John Odigie-Oyegun led Presidential Screening Committee of the ruling All Progressives Congress APC, has submitted its report to the Senator Abdullahi Adamu-led National Working Committee NWC.

The Chairman of the committee, John Odigie-Oyegun, while submitting the report revealed that 10 of the 23 presidential aspirants of the party, have been disqualified.

Although it was not immediately possible to get the list of those affected, Oyegun hinted that youthful aspirants made the list of cleared aspirants without revealing names.

John Odigie-Oyegun, on Friday also denied screening former President Goodluck Jonathan contrary to news making the rounds.

He said the former president was not at Transcorp Hilton for the exercise.

Recall that apart from Vice President Yemi Osinbajo and former Lagos State Governor, Bola Tinubu, other APC presidential aspirants are Senate President Ahmad Lawan and former ministers Rotimi Amaechi, Ogbonnaya Onu, Godswill Akpabio, and Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba.

Serving governors aspiring are Kayode Fayemi (Ekiti), Yahaya Bello (Kogi), Dave Umahi (Ebonyi), Ben Ayade (Cross River) and Badaru Abubakar (Jigawa).

Others are former Senate President Ken Nnamani, former House of Representatives Speaker, Dimeji Bankole, and serving senators Ibikunle Amosun, Ajayi Boroffice, and Rochas Okorocha.

President Muhammadu Buhari’s running mate in 2011, Pastor Tunde Bakare, Uju Ken-Ohanenye, Nicholas Felix, Ahmad Rufai Sani, Tein Jack-Rich, Ikeobasi Mokelu are also aspiring.

According to an earlier released schedule by the party, the 13 cleared aspirants are expected to contest the APC presidential primary at a special convention in Abuja between June 6 and June 8.

You may also like


Leave a Reply