INEC Chairman asks Nigerians to expect the best from the Commission


Abiodun OBA


Six new National Commissioners of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) have been sworn in.

The swearing-in ceremony by President Muhammadu Buhari, came after the virtual Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting held at the Council Chamber, State House, Abuja.

The Commissioners are Malam Mohammed Haruna (Niger), Mrs May Agbamuche-Mbu (Delta), Ukaegbu Nnamdi (Abia), rtd Maj.-Gen. Abubakar Alkali (Adamawa), Prof. Rhoda Gumus (Bayelsa) and Mr Sam Olumekun (Ondo).

INEC Chairman, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu said with the inauguration of the commissioners, Nigerians should expect the best out of the commission.

“Well, it’s a good day for the Commission, with the swearing-in of the six National Commissioners, we have the full complement of 12 National Commissioners.

“It’s coming three days to by-elections in four states of the Federation and as we plan for the Ekiti and Osun governorship elections.

“As we continue to prepare for the 2023 general elections, we’ll go on firing on all cylinders now that we have the full complement of commissioners and Nigerians should expect the best out of the Commission.”

Those at the inauguration of the Commissioners were Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, President of the Senate, Ahmed Lawan and Speaker House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila.

Secretary to Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha, Chief of Staff to the President, Prof. Ibrahim Gambari, some ministers as well as INEC Chairman, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu also witnessed the inauguration of the INEC Commissioners.

You may also like


Leave a Reply